Han Stitched First by Whatever James

When I started stitching I took a vow of no Star Wars. I couldn’t imagine who else would ever see my work besides a few close friends and I thought coming from me, more Star Wars was just more cliché. I don’t do Star Wars costumes at Halloween for the same reason. If you are reading this, you already know that the damn broke on stitching a few years ago.

I’ve told the story before: I decided to do 12 Wars-themes cross stitch projects in as many months (HA!) and post each to my personal blog under the title “Han Stitched First”.  I found myself wishing for a Star Wars themed needlework blog and thought if one existed IT should be called Han Stitched First. When I found out that none existed, I decided that this was the droid I was looking for and the rest is searchable history.

The part I have left out for years is that the name didn’t come first. Before Luke, before Vader, before The Maker or any of the others the name was born from the idea of Han Solo, in one of his classic poses, holding an embroidery hoop instead of his trusty DL-44. I wasn’t as good as a pattern designer as I am now (which is still not much to talk about) and had no idea what to do. I’ve never mentioned it to anyone, other than my wife, and have revisited the idea many times a year.

Finally, Han Stitched First:

by Whatever James

by Whatever James

About Whatever James

Cross-Stitcher, Father, Husband, Nerd, Podcaster, Songwriter, Aquarius, Muffin Man, Sex Machine. Pretty Awesome Smartass.
This entry was posted in Cross Stitch, Funny, Han Solo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

